Originally being “Option B” if my Churchill’s Sour Fest plans went… well sour (sorry, couldn’t help myself), I was ecstatic that my beer posse was down to visit Mother Earth Brew Co. after the Fest.  This place came highly recommend from a couple co-workers after I had told them about my last north county brewery experience.  Founded in 2008 and opening the doors to their Vista location in 2010, the brewery doubles as a homebrew market offering grains, hops and yeast varieties galore.

Lurking on their website they note promoting “the art and science of craft beer making” as one of their goals, which was represented in the FREE brewing classes they offer.  Although Ben homebrews, when I’m home I have too many distractions to keep focused on what he’s doing for too long.  I get the gist, but in my quest to understand how slight variation in production can change the flavors of beer, getting just the gist isn’t going to cut it.  If anyone is interested in taking a class with me, hit me up!

The Brewery:  It was not a huge space, but space well used.  There were plenty of people, but not once did it feel crowded (notice how important this is to me yet?).  The bar table top was a sort of metal that the bartender was able to write on directly with a sharpie and wipe clean with a wet cloth- NEAT!  The entire place smelled earthy and organic due to the very fresh ingredients from the homebrew shop.  They also started to pop popcorn, which messed with my senses a bit once we started tasting.  The tap list board had much more information than just the basics.  It included the type of malt and hops used, further representing the brewery’s willingness to share their knowledge.

Taster Prices: All but one of their beers available cost $2 for an 8oz pour.  We purchased one set of 8 tasters.  The 8oz pour was the perfect amount for 4 people to share.

The Line-Up:  The beer facilitators seemed very interested in Laura and I after we broke out the pens and paper.   I had attempted to tie in the taste with the malt an hops listed, but found that to be too much information to process with 8 beers.  Two of their most popular beers were out, but they did have a special cream ale available not listed on their tap board list.  The Cream Ale was a stand out for the group.  It smelled of vanilla bean and was much more like a dessert.  The Hop Diggity DIPA was surprisingly mild on the bitterness level considering it was a DIPA (Double IPA),  not necessarily considered a negative since it was quite drinkable.  We ended up with a growler of their Saison, the Los Cuatros Amigos- how fitting!  It was filtered which Laura found unique for typical Saisons, “I’m used to dirty in my mouth.”  Oh, the quotes you get when a tiny bit of alcohol is involved.

Overall Impressions:  I enjoyed my MEBC visit and would recommend beer lovers to wander on over there.  I dug the hippie feel to the atmosphere.  The staff was attentive and tried to answer all my questions.  I would definitely grab a glass if I found them on tap in the city.  I’m also very excited to take advantage of one of their free courses!


