Tags

, , , ,

I went into running the 20th Anniversary of the World Famous Camp Pendleton Mud Run with high hopes.  This was the third year participating on team Will Run For Beer and we were enticed with the promises of “new obstacles.”  With the onslaught of obstacle infused races, I thought it was about time the “World Famous” mud run got a face lift.   One of the biggest complaints I heard from fellow participants regarding the 10k is that it consisted of a 5 mile run and only 1 mile of obstacles.

Mud_Run_2011

Team Will Run For Beer 2011

Will_Run_For_Beer_2012

Team Will Run For Beer 2012

Running ability wise, my team members varied.  We didn’t stay together at all times and would wait to regroup if we had separated too far.  Marie and I recycled our Pittsburgh Marathon Star Wars shirts so our other team members matched our theme.  Carlos as Boba Fett,  Erika the Storm Trooper and Ben as ummmmm, Sexy Naked Vader.  Carlos didn’t have the easiest costume to run in, but  it sure looked great and was complete with a blow up jet pack.

Boba Fett Bounty Hunter

Boba Fett Bounty Hunter

Sexy Vader... thank God for strategically placed Race Bibs

Sexy Vader… thank God for strategically placed Race Bibs

The entire crew pre-dirt

The entire crew pre-dirt

I wasn’t exactly impressed with some of the new additions to the course.  After standing in line at the cargo nets for almost 10 minutes and not being anywhere close to the front we decided to bypass it completely.  For the second year in a row the “lake” was completely dry.  Instead, nets were placed low to the ground that we had to crawl under.  Although Ben had to carry me across the very first year when that lake was 6ft high, I have to say I missed it.  Maybe I just enjoyed a reason to be carried by the hubby?

The "lake" back in 2011.

The “lake” back in 2011.

The "lake" 2013

The “lake” 2013

Wall climb into a mud pit

Wall climb into a mud pit

Tunnels and my backside

Tunnels and my backside

I gulped down a Passion flavored Island Boost at mile 3 but mostly because it tastes great.  I could have gotten away with drinking water the whole time since I wasn’t exerting myself.  Since becoming an Island Boost ambassador though I’ve been more conscious about taking them more often just to provide feedback.  Besides wasting my liquid gold I decided that morning not to wear socks.  Runner FAIL!  Every time my foot submerged water it took on a ton of rocks.  I don’t normally run barefoot so I don’t have the built up calluses needed to handle rocks to bare feet.  Luckily I used the time waiting for team members to empty out my shoes.  I must have done this at least 5 times!  Yes my feet were in need of some major exfoliation, but that was a bit extreme.

I love me some Island Boost and Boba Fett photo bombing.

I love me some Island Boost and Boba Fett photo bombing.

Emptying out the rocks from my shoe AGAIN.

Emptying the rocks from my shoes AGAIN.

One very cool addition to the day’s events was a special kids version of the race.  Marie and Alex’s son got to participate.

Ewok spotting in the mud!

Ewok spotting in the mud!

What did I learn about myself this weekend?  I missed that five miles of running.  I’m definitely a RUNNER, not a Spartan, not a Gladiator, and definitely not a Mudder.   My biggest beef with this run were the long lines at each obstacle.  I understand these races need to make money, but a smaller field would definitely alleviate the issue.  I’m not against doing the obstacles.  They are fun and challenging.  I’m against waiting in line to do them.  I don’t welcome the break (unless it is to take rocks out of my shoe).  I’m an instant gratification type of gal.  I could spend less money for a boot camp and get my ass kicked 10 times harder.

Team Will Run For Beer 2013

Team Will Run For Beer 2013

