Tags

BARBs putting in work.

BARBs putting in work.

Last weekend I had the opportunity to run Cooking Light and Health Magazine’s San Diego Fit Foodie 5k as a race ambassador.  Although I wouldn’t consider 5k’s my distance of choice, I really embraced what the Fit Foodie race stood for.   It’s motto?  “Run. Eat. Drink. Repeat.”  If you add in “Nap Time,” it could have been MY life motto.  Life is about balance.  I believe in pushing my physical limits, yet not depriving myself of delicious food (or beer or course).  This was indeed the perfect run for me to represent.

For several seasons the Girls On The Run 5k was held around the Embarcadero area so I was familiar with the general race course.  The Fit Foodie started and ended where the numerous sponsors camped.  I have never been at a race with this many sponsors and free samples before!  More on this later.

Sponsors Galore

Sponsors Galore

I met up with a couple of BARBs (Bad Ass Running Buddies) prior to the start.  This was a fairly large race.  Although we were not far from the starting line, we ended up in wave 2.  The great thing about short distances?  You could run them FAST.  As soon as you feel you need to puke, you are crossing the finish line!  Because of the race size, my friend Allison and I had to do a lot of weaving for the first mile.  Also, although strollers were allowed on the course, my other BARB Jeanie did not find it too stroller friendly.  Given, she is a fast (even with a stroller), so passing was difficult.  If someone were out to cruise or walk the course, they may have found the space sufficient.

Official Finishing Time: 25:22

Mile 1: 8:48

Mile 2: 8:04

Mile 3: 7:38

The best part of coming in 25th out of 284th in my age group?  The still empty sponsor tables!  In my older age, I have been leaving the house forgetting to eat breakfast.  How eating is not automatic to me yet, I cannot explain.   But it happens, and it happened race morning.  By the time I crossed the finish line, I was ready to eat my arm.  The sponsors were there to save the day!  I ended up leaving with two bags FULL of goodies.

Race goodies!!

Race goodies!!

Besides the goodies I received that day, as an ambassador I got to try many products ahead of time.  Below are a few honorable mentions.

Sartori Cheese– I received 5 different flavors with recipes to go along with each.

My Sartori Care Package

My Sartori Care Package

Fabletics– Get your first complete outfit for $25!

Why yes, my chevron print pants are very cute.  Thank you.

Why yes, my chevron print pants are very cute. Thank you.

Quest Bar- 20 grams of Protein and less than 200 calories per bar.  Best part?  I found the cookies and cream flavor to be DELICIOUS!

Holy goodness... GET INTO MY MOUTH!

Holy goodness… GET INTO MY MOUTH!

Way Better Snacks– If you like sweet and savory, pick up a bag of the Sweet Chili flavor!

Chips for days.

Chips for days.

Even if I am not approached to be an ambassador next year, I intend on doing the race again just for the massive amount of swag!  Put this race on your radar and run fast to get first pick of all the goodness waiting at the finish.